NRA Officer of the Year Award | Scholarships, Awards & Contests

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

NRA Law Enforcement Officer Of The Year Award

NRA's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award was established in 1993 and recognizes an exceptional act or service by a law enforcement officer and is administered by the NRA Law Enforcement Division. Nominations are accepted from anyone having knowledge of the nominee's actions. This includes, but is not limited to, the nominee's agency head, other law enforcement officials, elected officials, fellow officers, community leaders, interested citizens, and NRA members.

For eligibility information, award categories, and complete information, click here for the NRA Officer of the Year Nomination Form. Nominations can be sent at any time throughout the year, but must be received by October 15th.

Glock, a premier supplier of police firearms, supports the NRA’s Officer of the Year Program by providing an engraved firearm to the recipient of this prestigious award.


NRA Officer Of The Year Pistol 

2022 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Deputy Mark Johns, Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office

The NRA bestowed Deputy Mark Johns with Law Enforcement Officer of the Year award for 2022.

Click here to read more about Deputy Johns’ heroic actions.

Past Recipients of the Officer of the Year Award

Year Names
2022 Deputy Mark Johns, Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office
2021 Deputy Tyler Thoman, Brevard County Florida Sheriff’s Department
2019 Deputy Paul Phillips, Brevard County Florida Sheriff’s Department
2018 Sergeant Michael Parsons, Tulsa Oklahoma Police Department
2017 Sergeant Mathew Cousins, Bristol Tennessee Police Department
2016 Officer Jason Falconer, Avon Minnesota Police Department
2015 Officer Marcus Pesquera, San Bernardino California Police Department
2014 Deputy Mark Vaughan, Oklahoma County Sheriff's Department
2013 Officer Christopher Shine, North Liberty Iowa Police Department
2012 Detective David McCarley, City of Pearl Mississippi Police Department
2011 Deputy Michael S. Zack, Cecil County Maryland Sheriff's Department
2010 Wildlife Officer Michael K. Neal, Arkansas Game & Fish Commission
2009 Sergeant Dave Lawler, Linn County Oregon Sheriff's Office
2008 Officer Timothy A. Stringer, Ferguson Township Police Department, Ferguson Township, Pennsylvania
2007 Captain Philip Hemphill, Mississippi Highway Patrol
2006 Trooper Rick Smith, Texas Department of Public Safety
2005 Officer James D. Niggemeyer, Columbus Division of Police, Columbus, Ohio
2004 Officer Rodney Chambers, Amtrak Police Department, Washington, D.C.
2003 Sergeant Marcus Young, Ukiah Police Department, Ukiah, California
2002 Patrolman Gary "Kevin" Helms, Shelby County, TN Sheriff's Office
2001 Agent Clay B. Tippit, U.S. Border Patrol, Marfa, Texas
2000 Sergeant Harry A Baumann, Clarkstown, New York Police Department
1999 Sergeant Stephen Melaragno, Providence, Rhode Island Police Department
1998 Corporal James E. Hosfelt, Jr., City of Dover, Delaware Police Department
1997 Officer Diana Dunigan, Philadelphia Police Department, Pennsylvania
1996 Sheriff Kevin Beary, Orange County Sheriff's Office, Florida
1995 Chief Michael Dorn, Bibb County Public Schools Campus Police Department, Georgia
1994 Sheriff Richard Mack, Graham County Sheriff's Office, Arizona
1993 Officer Tina Dillard, DeKalb County, Georgia Police Department

More Awards

Explore other opportunities that recognize and reward outstanding individuals for their involvement with the shooting sports in their community.

Ms. Marion P. Hammer has influenced many in her fight to preserve Second Amendment freedoms. To honor her pioneering spirit, the National Rifle Association bestows the Marion P. Hammer Women of Distinction Award in her name.

To honor Sybil Ludington accomplishment and the accomplishments of modern heroines, the National Rifle Association bestows the prestigious Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award in her name.

Want To Know More Blue Question Mark Icon

For more information about the NRA Officer Of The Year Award, call (703) 267-1649 or send an email to [email protected].

Scholarships, Awards & Contests

The NRA is proud to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of members, young shooters, women, law enforcement and clubs with scholarships, awards and contests.