Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award | Scholarships, Awards & Contests

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award

On the night of April 26, 1777, a wounded messenger barely reached the home of New York militia officer Henry Ludington with desperate news of a British attack on nearby Danbury, Connecticut. Munitions and supplies for the entire region's militia were at stake, and with not a moment to spare, Colonel Ludington turned to his 16-year-old daughter, Sybil for help. While he organized the local militia, Sybil mounted her horse and galloped through the night to rally troops in the surrounding countryside.

Trekking on dirt roads that were unknown to her, Sybil never lost sight of her mission—to alert the patriots about the British attack, thereby preserving the cause of freedom. By risking her life that dark and desolate night, Sybil made a profound difference in America's successful pursuit to become a free and independent nation. For her act of courage, General Washington and General Rochambeau personally thanked her.

Now to honor her accomplishment and the accomplishments of modern heroines, the National Rifle Association bestows the prestigious Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award in her name.


Nominate Someone For The Sybil Ludington Award

All nominations must be received by November 1 in order to be considered

Recipients of the Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award

Year Names
2015 Carolyn Meadows
2014 None
2013 Janet Nyce
2012 Nicole Goeser
2011 Marlene Duncan
2010 Sarah Palin
2009 Linda Walker
2007 Edie P. Reynolds
2006 Patricia M. (Peggy) Tartaro
2005 Patricia A. Clark
2004 Sandra S. Froman
2003 Suzie Brewster
2002 Peggy M. Siler
2001 Susan Howard
2000 Sue King
1999 Marianne Jensen Driver
1998 Tanya K. Metaksa
1997 Suzanna Gratia Hupp
1996 Alice Bull
1995 Marion P. Hammer

More Awards

Explore other opportunities that recognize and reward outstanding individuals for their involvement with the shooting sports in their community.

The NRA Outstanding Achievement Youth Award Presented by Brownells recognizes juniors and young adults who take an active part in the shooting sports through individual participation and educational pursuits.

Ms. Marion P. Hammer has influenced many in her fight to preserve Second Amendment freedoms. To honor her pioneering spirit, the National Rifle Association bestows the Marion P. Hammer Women of Distinction Award in her name.

NRA's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award was established in 1993 and recognizes an exceptional act or service by a law enforcement officer. Nominations are accepted from anyone having knowledge of the nominee's actions.

Want To Know More Blue Question Mark Icon

For more information about the Sybil Ludington Women's Freedom Award, please call (800) 554-9498 or email [email protected].

Scholarships, Awards & Contests

The NRA is proud to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of members, young shooters, women, law enforcement and clubs with scholarships, awards and contests.