NRA Explore | Collegiate Shooting Scholarship Program

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Collegiate Shooting Scholarship Program

The NRA Collegiate Shooting Program established the NRA Collegiate Shooting Scholarships to support America's youth in furthering their higher education. These one-time scholarships are a unique way for high school students to receive support from the NRA to continue their education and continue their passion for the shooting sports and the Second Amendment.

In 2016, the program opened to high school students in Pennsylvania or Virginia. Please check back to see if your state joins the program. Applications must be postmarked no later than June 1 of the current year. Applicants must:

  • Be in good academic standing with no less than a 3.0 GPA supported by an official transcript
  • Have a strong interest in the shooting sports and the Second Amendment
  • Write a short essay (500 words or less) on the importance of the Second Amendment or how the shooting sports have contributed to your personal development
  • Include a letter of reference from a school administrator, advisor, teacher, or coach
  • Include a copy of your letter of acceptance to your chosen college or university

2017 Applications Coming Soon

Past Recipients of the NRA Collegiate Shooting Scholarship

Year Name Hometown School
2016 Zachary Eisenberg Burke, Virginia NC State University
2016 Claire Zanti Norfolk, Virginia NC State University
2016 Grace Nelson Lititz, Pennsylvania University of Alaska Fairbanks
2016 Karly Potts Ephrata, Pennsylvania Morehead State University
2016 Jack Anderson Franklin, Pennsylvania West Virginia University
2016 Cassidy Fairman Indiana, Pennsylvania Saint Francis University
2015 Andrew Hudak Jr. Scranton, Pennsylvania The Citadel
2015 Zoe Rupert Springboro, Pennsylvania West Virginia University
2015 Adam Burke McClellandtown, Pennsylvania Seton Hill University
2015 Cheyenne Tussel Hawley, Pennsylvania Penn State University
2015 Virginia Thrasher Springfield, Virginia West Virginia University
2015 Samuel Cavender Stafford, Virginia University of Utah
2014 Kristen Eberhardt Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania Lebanon Valley College
2014 William Dixon Kempton, Pennsylvania University of Kentucky
2014 Ariana Grabowski Beaver, Pennsylvania Texas Christian University
2014 Marie Horomanski Monroeville, Pennsylvania Pennsylvania State University

More Opportunities

Explore other opportunities that recognize and reward outstanding individuals for their involvement with the shooting sports in their community.

The NRA Foundation supports this summit that encourages young adults to become active and knowledgeable U.S. citizens by learning about the Constitution and Bill of Rights, the federal government and the importance of being active in civic affairs.

This women's scholarship, from the Women of the NRA, is a renewable, one-year, $5,000 scholarship available to full-time college juniors or seniors with a minimum grade point average of 3.0, majoring in wildlife management/conservation.

NRA's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award was established in 1993 and recognizes an exceptional act or service by a law enforcement officer. Nominations are accepted from anyone having knowledge of the nominee's actions.

Want To Know More 

For additional questions, please contact us at

Scholarships, Awards & Contests

The NRA is proud to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of members, young shooters, women, law enforcement and clubs with scholarships, awards and contests.