Marion P. Hammer | Scholarships, Awards & Contests

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

The Extraordinary Marion P. Hammer

Marion P. Hammer is an American gun advocate and lobbyist who was the first female president of the NRA from 1995-1998.  She has been an NRA member all her adult life and had served as second and first vice president before being elected to the NRA’s highest office.

Marion became a lobbyist during the 1970’s and works with the Florida legislature to write pro-gun legislation.  She is credited with influencing many of Florida’s gun laws including the 2005 Stand Your Ground law. The success of her pro-gun lobby has had an impact on similar laws across the United States. Marion began to develop the NRA Eddie Eagle GunSafe program for children in 1988. To date, over 28 million children have completed this very successful program.  

Marion was awarded the NRA-ILA Legislative Achievement Award, Roy Rogers “Man of the Year” Award and was the first woman to receive this award. The National Safety Council awarded her the Outstanding Community Service Award, and in 2005 she was inducted into the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame. In 2018 she was awarded the NRA Women’s Leadership Forum Lifetime Achievement Award.

Marion is a speaker, instructor and author.  

Marion is a trailblazer, a leader and an outspoken activist and leader. She is a staunch defender and protector of our Second Amendment right to keep and bear arms. We celebrate her achievements and are inspired by her extraordinary life of service.

​Nominate Someone for the Marion P. Hammer Woman of Distinction Award

Online Nomination Form

 Nominations must be received by November 1 in order to be considered.

Want To Know More Blue Question Mark Icon

For more information about the Marion P. Hammer Woman of Distinction Award, please call (800) 554-9498 or email [email protected].

Scholarships, Awards & Contests

The NRA is proud to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of members, young shooters, women, law enforcement and clubs with scholarships, awards and contests.