Susan Tabor | Scholarships, Awards & Contests

Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

2006 Marion P. Hammer Women Of Distinction Award Winner

NRA honors Susan Tabor For Leadership In Firearms Legislation

At its 135th Annual Meetings, held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, May 19-21, the National Rifle Association honored former Michigan State Representative Susan Tabor for her outstanding contributions to defending the Second Amendment and advancing the goals of NRA. For her accomplishments, Tabor was selected to receive a Marion P. Hammer Woman of Distinction Award.

During the presentation of the award, NRA Board member Susan Howard said, "Former Michigan Representative Susan Tabor spearheaded Michigan's dove hunting legislation and worked to pass legislation that prevents Michigan municipalities from suing firearm manufacturers in the state. She has fought tirelessly for the rights of hunters and gun owners in Michigan."

Elected to represent the 71st District in the Michigan House of Representatives in 1998, Susan Tabor served three consecutive terms. During this period, she became the first woman to serve as chairperson of the House Conservation and Outdoor Recreation Committee. In addition, she founded and served as co-chair of the Michigan Legislative Sportsmen's Caucus. While in office, she was honored by a number of gun rights groups and sportsmen's organizations, including the Citizen's Committee for the Right to Keep and Bear Arms, the Michigan United Conservation Club, the Flint Chapter of Safari Club International, and the U.S. Sportsman's Alliance. She currently serves as the Regional Coordinator for the National Wild Turkey Federation's Women in the Outdoors Program, conducting activities in lower Michigan and northern Indiana.

Scholarships, Awards & Contests

The NRA is proud to recognize the accomplishments and contributions of members, young shooters, women, law enforcement and clubs with scholarships, awards and contests.